11. ¡Perros! ¡Perros! Dog! Dogs! by Ginger Foglesong Guy


Being multilingual and a linguist, I’ve made it my mission to expose my son to languages and hope he would view it as an opportunity. So far so good. His Polish is expanding from day-to-day and his Spanish is catching up thanks to my son’s wonderful teacher. I do my share with Spanish books.

Our latest discovery is ¡Perros! ¡Perros! Dogs! Dogs! It is a picture book written in both English and Spanish, but it is not a typical Spanglish, like “Fiesta Fiasco” for example, which I will surely introduce some time soon. This book is written in two language versions but it comes together as one. I love the idea! If only you know the basic pronunciation rules in both languages, you can easily help your child read the story. And if you don’t, you can do it my husband’s way and make it up as you go. Your child is smart enough to get the gist. That was me, the mom, speaking, not a language teacher, of course.

All kinds of dogs are running through the town. Where are they going?  Although the story is very simple, the added value of this book is its educational aspect. Accurately chosen descriptions of the dogs, teach adjectives in the two languages. The wording is limited, full of repetitions, to help the child isolate the target vocabulary and to remember it better.  The cartoonish pictures are entertaining and  play an important role as a visual learning element.

Read and learn Spanish. You have every reason to try this clever head and shoulders!

We started reading the book in the full double version. Then I read the Spanish version loudly and I whispered the English part. I made my son point to what I was reading. Now I point and my son “reads” in Spanish.

Leave a Reply

