47.”Some Dogs Do” by Jez Alborough


Sid the dog was feeling happy. So happy it made him fly like a ‘dog-shaped balloon”. So what? Nobody believed him. His friends called him a liar. They challenged him and he failed to provide the proof of his supernatural talent. Sid’s balloon of happiness popped. He felt very unhappy and misunderstood, until… his father shared a secret with Sid… So, “Do dogs fly? Is it true? Some dogs don’t and some dogs do!”

I think I have found my next favorite writer! Jez Alborough’s way with words and pictures is very addictive. I just want to read more and more of his incredible feel-good stories. They also make us think. It is the best combo a book can offer a child.

Albert Einstein said, “There are two ways to live your life… One is as though nothing is a miracle, the other is as though everything is a miracle.” I choose the latter. No worries, I am not trying to deny the rules of physics and chemistry here. It is the 21st century after all. I just don’t believe that there is nothing beyond science, logic and statistics. Perhaps a little baby’s face just twists in a grimace, but I view it as a smile and it melts my heart down. Falling in love? It is just pheromones at work. Surviving cancer? It is nothing more than an achievement of advanced technology. Well, you call it whatever you want to. I believe in miracles, as this approach gives me an inexplicable power to strive for the commonly impossible. At the same time, it reminds me that we are just people and we don’t have answers for everything.

 

                           

Leave a Reply

