52. “I’m a Truck Driver” by Jonathan London


Isn’t it amazing that while little girls dress up as fairies and princesses, most of the little boys are fascinated by the more down-to-earth, hard-working people? Seriously, Have you seen a preschooler pretending to be  a prince ? When my son’s friend, Finnegan, was asked about his age, he would answer: “I’m two and a half. I am a construction worker.” His other friend, Aaron, has always been a train operator, and my son tends to “work” either as an eighteen-wheeler or a race car driver.

No wonder, “I’m a Truck Driver” was on our reading list. The book is a collection of big pictures (by David Parkins) of big and heavy machines. Among others, there is a Cement Truck, Bulldozer, Crane, Garbage Truck, Snowplow. Each illustration is accompanied by a four line rhyme describing the impressive job the machine does. The text is cleverly written in the first person, so my son basically thinks the book is about himself. Yesterday, as we were in the park and he was sitting on a toy digger, I heard him saying: ” I’m a Power Shovel operator. I dig up the land.” Sure, why not?

When I was a little girl I just wanted to be a teacher. I know, quite boring. And guess what? Predictably, twenty years later I got my teacher’s certificate. As the saying goes, “those who can, do, those who can’t, teach.” I have always been better in theories than practice. Although, I was pretty proud of myself the other day when I helped my son to fix one his tricky constructions. He commented with a complement: “Mommy, you will be an engineer some day!”

Leave a Reply

