83. “Miles To Go” by Jamie Harper


I still remember the excitement when we bought our son his first proper toy car. It was a red truck with a trailer. My son has been playing with it for two years now and he can’t get bored, even though his car collection has grown dramatically in the meantime. As I noticed some toys can’t be outgrown. A little red and yellow plastic coupe is yet another example. My son just loves taking rides in his vehicle. He parks it next to our car in the garage and he fills it with up at the sprinkler station. We will be moving out soon and the red-yellow car is going to be shipped as well, of course.

Something tells me that you can easily relate to what I am talking about. If not,  “Miles To Go” will paint a real picture.

Miles drives his car to school. His drive is far more exciting than regular commute. He honks at Gus, the dog, (not today though, the horn doesn’t work), drops the mail into a mailbox, give his car a wash in a puddle, successfully avoids a head-on collision with a  four-wheeler, goes through a green tunnel and parks safely next to Otto’s scooter. What a joy ride!

If your child has any interest in cars, bikes or any other kind of vehicles, this book is a real must-read. The pictures are bright, amusing and very engaging. My son loves the street maps showing the route Miles takes to get to school and back. And the story is such a reality show. Miles is every child and every child is Miles.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Donnie Aldredge
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:29:55

    I?m impressed, I must say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very joyful that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing regarding this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

