204. “How the Grinch stole Christmas!” by Dr. Seuss


I was in two minds about writing a Christmas relating post in the middle of January, but I decided to go for it for two reasons.  First of all, we did read this book yesterday with my son and got captivated by it,  and secondly, today I visited a friend, who still couldn’t part with her Christmas tree. So, love me or hate me , but why not? Which child wouldn’t like Christmas to last at least for a month?

Since, unlike me, you might have been raised on this classic, you probably wonder what the fuss is about. Well, I have just read it for the first time  so I am under the spell and all excited.  I admire Dr. Seuss’s writing in general, but I think that this one is one of this best. As always, the story is comic to the level of absurd. It is written with impeccable pacing, rhythm, effortless and original rhymes and is illustrated with his signature cartoonish pictures. His style can’t be confused with anyone else’s. (Who would dare copying him anyway, right?)  I love his preposterous characters,  even the Grinch who hated Christmas.  Nobody knew the reason why he did.  “Perhaps his heart was two sizes too small.” (my favorite line!) Regardless of the reason, his heart grew by a few sizes, just in time to  celebrate the Merry Holiday. He realized the power of  Christmas with or without presents and feasting. And so should we and our children .

And this is why I am so happy I read this memorable and inspiring story with my son. Too late for the latest Christmas but in time for the next one.

Leave a Reply

