“Pink Me Up” by Charise Mericle Harper


After my younger son was born, a befriended nurse brought him a little gift: a hat. What’s more, a pink hat. I found it quite odd, considering we are in America, where the pink-blue color code goes without saying. But I didn’t say anything. The nurse did. “A wrong hat!” She exclaimed as she looked at my baby boy. “He can’t wear pink,” she added. “Not in this country!”

Not in this country indeed. While my husband seemed quite relieved that his son got the “right” color to put on his head, I was amused with the whole incident. Not as amused as  I saw the truly blue set of clothes my mom sent her grandson. Well, she shopped in Poland, where blue is for girls. LOL! Go figure!

If I have to choose between pink or blue, I go for brown or green. These are my favorite colors and I make sure that I see them on my sons as well. My four-year-old likes red, black and orange, so his wardrobe is quite colorful. I don’t mind. If children can’t dress like a rainbow, who can!

How did we arrive at this dual dress code anyway? Is there any explanation and justification for it? Please, enlighten me. In my opinion it is as arbitrary as relative. I know of cute blond boys wearing pink T-shirts because it suits them. I know of serious grown up men wearing pink dress shirts, because they feel like it. I think it’s great. It takes a strong ego to buck the trend like that. Especially in this country.

As a parent you need a strong ego.  “Pink Me Up” explains it with a lot humor.

A little girl was looking forward to a ‘Pink Girls Pink-Nic’ with her mom. But mom got sick. Who was going to take the girl to the party, if the only other girl in the house was the cat?  Surprise, surprise, daddy was ready to fill in for mom. But was daddy pink enough with his pink tie? Daddy needed to be pinked up. Pink stripes here, pink dots there, and daddy was “perfectly pink” for the ‘pink-nic’. 

Is there anything a dad will not do for his daughter?

A hilarious take on the color drama that many of you may know first hand. Little girls might find the book inspiring, dads might deem it encouraging. Even my orthodox blue husband said he might pink himself up if he had to. If we had a daughter that is.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

