Victorious by TaeKwonDo


The other day my son was playing tag with his dad. At some point I heard my husband say “You will never get me!”  “Oh, yes I will,” my son responded with confidence. “If I persevere, I will!”  What four-year-old talks like that, right? Well, perhaps a TaeKwonDo student?

Our story with martial arts started last year. I was 3 months pregnant and my energy level negative. My son was three and bursting with energy. I needed to find a way for him to sweat it out while I could get some rest. A fellow mom suggested a local TaeKwonDo studio, Gold Medal Martial Arts.  All I knew about martial arts was what I had learned from  “The Karate Kid” and “Kung Fu Panda”.  My choice wasn’t most educated, but I decided to give it a try. We went to watch a practice.  My son was mesmerized with the high-speed action on the mat, a strange language of commands and colorful belts, that must have meant something. Yet, it took him a few classes to actively participate and about a month to put on the ‘costume’ (a.k.a. uniform). Once he did, though, the real fun began. Kick by kick, block by block, form by form, he was excited to learn a new TaeKwonDo move.

The improved physical strength is not the only thing  he owes to TaeKwonDo.  Martial arts are about attitude. Values like perseverance, focus on the goal, discipline, doing one’s best, humility or respect to parents and teachers  are seamlessly integrated in the sport, from which, they transpire into real life. The vision of becoming a black belt and responsibility that comes with it act most inspirational and motivational. Many a time, did my son want to skip the practice because he felt too tired. But then, the very thought of getting promoted to a higher rank was enough to rejuvenate him.

In other words, I think that TaeKwonDo adds a lot of value to my son’s development. It allows him to build on his physical strengths, like agility and flexibility, and suits his competitive and goal-oriented personality.  In positive and encouraging atmosphere, it teaches my son to excel in sport and in life.   What parent doesn’t want that!

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mattho Mandersloot
    May 26, 2013 @ 07:02:33

    What a great vision. Thumbs up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

